Sharp Practise

Sharp Practise plays melodic rock. We use four approaches to music that were applied in the 1970’s. Like the great classic rock groups, we want to be a credible act that is capable of having hit singles. From progressive rock we’ve taken the idea of trying to develop the quality of our playing to a good standard. Like punks we want to make our own opportunities when none already exist. And from the days of the great album bands, we want to use the studio as an additional instrument.  

Albums released so far are Hiya (2000), Radiocity (2005), Banging the Rocks (2009), Now You See Us (2010) and Steal with Pride (2013). All are studio albums except Now You See Us, which is a live recording. The current line-up of Sharp Practise got together during the recording of Banging the Rocks and features Simon Foley (guitars), Ryan Lawson (bass) and Michael Elwood (drums).

We got our name from the first record company we worked with. Nigel had sent them some demos on which he had played all the instruments himself. They assumed they’d heard a band and wanted to sign that band. When Nigel confessed to this piece of “sharp practice” there was only one thing the band could ever be called.

Since Sharp Practise started we have:

  • Appeared on Ground Zero TV in Australia
  • Had a track featured on the Fila sportswear Rock for Athletes CD in Italy
  • Provided a song for the soundtrack to a DVD by a teen star in Japan
  • Won a Kweevak listeners’ award in the USA
  • Won a New Music Award in the UK
  • Given a song to the Odyssey 2050 project that helps build young people’s awareness of environmental issues worldwide
  • Had videos broadcast in the US, Canada and across mainland Europe
  • Had tracks on the cover CD for Fireworks magazine in the UK
  • Been played on Lord Litter's Music Box International
  • Been the subject of an hour long special on ArtistFirst Radio in New York.
  • Played at several well-known venues including the Cavern Club and the Troubadour.


For more details contact


Sharp Practise - ©1999-2014